I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

Imagine if aliens lived among us. Not the aliens you might think of immediately (like E.T.), but aliens who cloud blend in, who look just like us. We would never know, they could be anyone: your next-door neighbor, your own best friend.

John Smith, to everyone around him, appears to be a typical teenage boy beginning his sophomore year of high school in Paradise, Ohio. But in actuality, John Smith is but one of many of his fake identities. His real name, if you could even really call it that, is Number Four. He comes from a planet far, far, away called Lorien. He is one of the nine powerful children who were taken to Earth about ten years ago, before Lorien was attacked by another alien planet: Mogadore.

Before the nine children were sent to Earth, they were each assigned a number (one through nine), and a Loric elder cast a charm, making it so that, should the Mogadorians ever go after these nine remaining Lorien descendants, they would only be able to kill them in order of the their numbers. Thus far, numbers one through three have been hunted down and killed by the Mogadorians, and John Smith, who is number four, knows that he is next.

When I first heard of this book, and was told that it was about aliens, I honestly didn’t have very high expectations for it. That probably wouldn’t have been the case for everyone, I just don’t typically like stories/books that are about aliens. But, when I started reading it, I immediately knew that I wouldn’t be able to stop. Luckily for me, this is a series, and three of the books were out when I started. Now, there are a total of seven in the series, the most recent having come out last year.

I can’t really pinpoint what it is about this book that sets it apart from other stories about aliens. Maybe it’s because the Loric look like us? I really don’t know, but I do really love this series, and I love all the characters that are introduced later on in the series as well. Despite the fact that three different authors have contributed to this series (all under the pseudonym of Pittacus Lore), the story flows very smoothly, and I could never wait for the next book to come out.

I don’t know how many times I’ve re-read this book, but it must be a lot because my copy’s falling apart (the only thing that’s holding it together is scotch tape). It’s definitely a great read, but don’t start unless you haven’t got anything planned for the rest of the day because trust me, you won’t be able to put it down.

-Elina T.

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore is available for checkout from the Mission Viejo Library.

Book Review: The Power of Six, by Pittacus Lore

power_of_six_coverIn The Power of Six, the sequel to the book I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore, aliens called Loriens move to Earth to escape the evil Mogadorians, who have already destroyed the planet Lorien and plan to take over the universe. The Loric are each named after a number and possess superhuman abilities called Legacies. Protected by a special charm, they can only be killed off in their numbered order. In I am Number Four, the Mogadorians have already terminated numbers one, two, and three out of the nine Loric. If all of the Loric are killed, there is no telling of what the future of Earth, let alone our universe, will be like.

After destroying a school and leaving Paradise, Ohio, Number Four and Six both go to Florida to flee the Mogadorians. On the other side of the world in Spain, however, Number Seven is trying to find her chest of Lorien because she knows that it is time to find the other Loric and face their enemies. But when the Mogadorians grow stronger and start to hunt down the only survivors of Lorien, there is nowhere else to hide from death and destruction.

Pittacus Lore is a pseudonym for the authors of the I am Number Four series. The authors are still in progress of finishing the series, which many young adults love. I would rate The Power of Six an eight out of ten because there wasn’t much action compared to I am Number Four. I would certainly recommend it to young adults and teenagers who love action and adventure, and can’t wait to finish reading the series!

-Riley W., 6th grade

Series Review: The Lorien Legacies by Pittacus Lore

i_am_number_fourWhen most people think of aliens, they imagine a green Martian with antennae and gigantic eyes. They usually don’t imagine an alien as a normal-looking teenage human being who has amazing super powers.

Like most science fiction books, The Lorien Legacies, written by a pseudonym under Pittacus Lore, is an ongoing series that’s full of action, suspense, and (for you girls out there) a little romance. The books are titled: I am Number Four, The Power of Six, The Rise of Nine, and The Fall of Five. The fifth book in the series is expected to be published in 2014.

The series is set in a modern day world. The planet Lorien, which is similar to Earth, has been obliterated by another race of aliens called Mogadorians. The only Loric to survive are (supposedly) nine teenagers, called the Garde, and their Cepans, who are assigned to protect their chosen Loric. Seeking salvation, the nine teenagers have come to Earth to train for combat. Their goal is to be able to destroy the Mogadorians and reclaim their home planet in time. They are each named after a number and possess amazing abilities called Legacies. Protected by a unique “charm”, the Garde can only be killed off in numbered order.

The first book in the series starts off with the story of Number Four, which means Numbers One, Two, and Three have already been killed by the Mogadorians. As the series goes on, readers will be able to meet more members of the Garde. This series is one of my favorites because the main characters are often faced with very difficult decisions and have to struggle through a number of life-threatening moments. Because they are only teenagers, the Garde sometimes don’t know what the right choices are. In the beginning, they constantly argue because they each have different views and personalities. The Garde has to learn to rely and trust one another, sort of like a team.

I would rate the Lorien Legacies a 9.5 out of 10 and would highly recommend it to anyone over the age of 12 who enjoys sci-fi and action. There are many surprising moments that will surely keep you in constant suspense and on the edge of your seat!

-Kaylie W., 9th grade

Book Review: I Am Number Four, by Pittacus Lore

i_am_number_fourI recently finished reading the book I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. It was an amazing book that I believe is a perfect fit for everyone.

The book is about aliens and their guardians who are currently living on planet earth. When the Mogadorians, another alien race, finally find them, they try to kill them off but can only do so in number order unless two are together.

In this adventure, Number Four’s life gets completely changed– from finding a very strange pet to dating the girl of his dreams, he learns about friendship, hope and that love is stronger than all of the planets combined. I read this book over the summer and fell in love with it just after the first page! Definitely one of my five favorite books. I give this book five stars and believe that it is a book that you can dive right into.

The first book in a series, I Am Number Four, is a novel about trust, adventure, endurance, perseverance and young love. I love this book and suggest truly to everyone and I could not put this book down from the first sentence to final word, and I hope that you read this book– it will NOT be a waste of time. I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore is truly a book worth reading that will encourage you to fight the daily battles and teaches you that things are not always as they seem.

-Danielle T., 7th grade